Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Our people

Young carers share their experiences in campus workshops
(16 Feb 2018)
On 25 January, we hosted the first Greater Manchester Higher Young Carers Day, designed to celebrate young carers in our local area

Two EEE students win national bursaries for engineering talent
(13 Feb 2018)
The Institution of Engineering and Technology’s Engineering Horizons Bursary offers long-term financial support to 75 engineering students and apprentices in the UK

Macmillan volunteer attends Buckingham Palace reception
(08 Feb 2018)
Senior Staff Learning & Development Co-ordinator Sally Shelmerdine recently attended a reception at Buckingham Palace hosted by HRH The Prince of Wales

Royal Society Honour for Manchester Chemical Engineer
(07 Feb 2018)

Professor Anton A. Kiss awarded highly esteemed Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award

Chemistry Professor interviewed by British Library
(06 Feb 2018)
Emeritus Professor of Chemistry John Helliwell interviewed by the British Library in its Oral History of Science project

Professor Kath Morris wins "Mission Possible"
(05 Feb 2018)
Professor Kath Morris has been presented with the “Mission Possible” award by the Nuclear Institute

New Graphene Chief Executive appointed at The University of Manchester
(01 Feb 2018)
James Baker announced as Chief Executive Officer for National Graphene Institute

Super Blue Blood Moon
(31 Jan 2018)
Find out from Tim O'Brien exactly what to expect from the Super Blue Blood Moon

Professor Carole Goble honoured by Maastricht University
(30 Jan 2018)
Professor Carole Goble from the School of Computer Science has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Maastricht University

Manchester leads EU-wide project to investigate energy poverty
(29 Jan 2018)
New project led by University Professor and Research Fellow addresses fuel poverty

Automation, robots and the ‘end of work’ myth
(29 Jan 2018)
Read The Conversation’s most popular University of Manchester article – at 21,000 reads

History graduate makes Winter Olympics team
(26 Jan 2018)
Peter Speight to compete in daunting halfpipe competition - performing a series of death-defying tricks while skiing down a steep slope

Vincent Kompany talks business with Financial Times
(25 Jan 2018)
The football captain on why he set himself a different goal

University Egyptologist uncovers the truth behind the famous face of Nefertiti
(23 Jan 2018)
Dr Joyce Tyldesley’s new book reveals that Nefertiti was not a Pharaoh