Search the University of Manchester siteSearch Menu StaffNet
Search type

Christmas pay dates and payroll deadlines

02 Nov 2018

Submit documentation on time or earlier as we face higher than average pre-Christmas volumes

Bank holidays and closure days

The final working day at the University before Christmas and New Year will be Friday, 21 December 2018. Bank holidays and closure days are as follows:

  • Saturday, 22 December 2018
  • Sunday, 23 December 2018
  • Monday 24 December 2018  Closure day
  • Tuesday, 25 December 2018 Christmas Day, Bank Holiday
  • Wednesday, 26 December 2018 Boxing Day, Bank Holiday
  • Thursday, 27 December 2018 Closure day
  • Friday, 28 December 2018 Closure day
  • Saturday, 29 December 2018 Weekend
  • Sunday, 30 December 2018 Weekend
  • Monday, 31 December 2018 Closure day
  • Tuesday, 1 January 2019 New Year’s Day, Bank Holiday

Christmas payrolls

As the University will be closed from Saturday, 22 December 2018 until Tuesday, 1 January 2019, a number of changes have been put in place to enable payrolls to run smoothly. In line with previous years the ‘End of Month’ Payroll and ‘Weekly’ payrolls will be paid differently to other months in the year.

End of Month payroll

End of Month Pay date will be Wednesday, 19 December 2018. All paperwork relating to this payroll including New Starter Acceptances needs to be received in to HR Services no later than: Friday, 7 December 2018 (5pm) Fully completed and authorised casual timesheets, overtime claims and staff fees to be received in to HR Services no later than: Friday, 7 December 2018 (5pm).

Weekly payroll

All staff that are paid on a weekly basis will receive a total of 3 weeks’ pay on 14 December. All paperwork relating to this payroll needs to be received in to HR Services no later than: Monday, 10 December 2018

Fees and Expenses

As with previous years we anticipate that there will be an increase in volume for any submitted staff expenses and PR7s. 

All fully completed and correctly authorised PR7’s need to be received in to HR Services no later than: Friday, 7 December 2018 (5pm) Staff expenses are paid weekly. The 21 December will be the final pay run. This will include all expenses received in to HR Services on or before: Monday, 3 December 2018 (5pm). HR Services aim to pay staff expenses received after this date before the Christmas closure however payment is only guaranteed for expenses received by 5pm on 1 December. 

Further information